Advising, Student Support and Academic Achievement

At Guttman, students work closely with an academic advisor starting in the Summer Bridge Program straight through to graduation. Advisors serve as educational planning, transfer, academic and career success coaches.

In the first year, students are guided by a Student Success Advocate (SSA), who helps them make a smooth transition to college life. During Summer Bridge and throughout the first year, students meet with their SSAs weekly in an advising seminar called Learning about Being a Successful Student (LaBSS).

After the first year, continuing students work with a Career Strategist, who helps them progress toward completing their major and their degree, and transition into a baccalaureate program and/or career. Career Strategists also host major-related activities, workshops, and networking events, and provide college transfer support to students.

Each House has its own SSA as part of the Instructional Teams, located on the 6th floor. The Career Strategists are located in the Mezzanine.

The Advising Team

Soulyka Agana-Woodbine Career Strategist: Liberal Arts & Human Services 646-313-8829
soulyka.agana-woodbine@guttman.cuny.edu
207-J
Carlos iro Burgos Student Success Advocate carlos.burgos@guttman.cuny.edu

610-I

Nelson Castro Student Success Advocate 646-313-8884
nelson.castro@guttman.cuny.edu
611-D
Rosemarie Chan Academic Advisor/Career Strategist: Urban Studies 646-313-8071
rosemarie.chan@guttman.cuny.edu
207-A
Laura Fritz Student Success Advocate 646-313-8873
laura.fritz@guttman.cuny.edu
606-C
Janine Harris Career Strategist: Information Technology & Liberal Arts 646-313-8814
janine.harris@guttman.cuny.edu
207- I
Danielle Insalaco-Egan Director of Student Support & Academic Achievement 646-313-8067
danielle.insalaco-egan@guttman.cuny.edu
207-H
Marlene Leo Student Success Advocate 646-313-8140
marlene.leo@guttman.cuny.edu
610-B
Frantz Louis Associate Director of Student Support & Academic Achievement 646-313-8196
frantz.louis@guttman.cuny.edu
207-L
Amallia Orman Student Success Advocate 646-313-8859
amallia.orman@guttman.cuny.edu
604-J
Cindy Perez Academic Advisor 646-313-8118
cindy.perez@guttman.cuny.edu
207-A
Stephanie Pinho Student Success Advocate 646-313-8109
stephanie.pinho@guttman.cuny.edu
609-L
Victoria Romero Career Strategist: Liberal Arts & Business Administration 646-313-8843
victoria.romero@guttman.cuny.edu
207G