Advising, Student Support and Academic Achievement

At Guttman, students work closely with an academic advisor starting in the Summer Bridge Program straight through to graduation. Advisors serve as educational planning, transfer, academic and career success coaches.

In the first year, students are guided by a Student Success Advocate (SSA), who helps them make a smooth transition to college life. During Summer Bridge and throughout the first year, students meet with their SSAs weekly in an advising seminar called Learning about Being a Successful Student (LaBSS).

After the first year, continuing students work with a Career Strategist, who helps them progress toward completing their major and their degree, and transition into a baccalaureate program and/or career. Career Strategists also host major-related activities, workshops, and networking events, and provide college transfer support to students.

Each House has its own SSA as part of the Instructional Teams, located on the 6th floor. The Career Strategists are located in the Mezzanine.

The Advising Team

Soulyka Agana-Woodbine Career Strategist:
Human Services
Liberal Arts & SciencesĀ (Social Science & Humanities Track)
646-313-8829
soulyka.agana-woodbine@guttman.cuny.edu
207-J
Janine Agarwal Career Strategist:
Information Technology
Liberal Arts & Sciences (Science & Math Track)
Liberal Arts & Sciences (Social Science & Humanities Track)
646-313-8814
janine.argarwal@guttman.cuny.edu
207- I
Carlos iro Burgos Student Success Advocate
House 3
646-313-8071
carlos.burgos@guttman.cuny.edu
609-L
Uriah Brown Student Success Advocate
House 2
646-313-8859
uriah.brown@guttman.cuny.edu
606-B
Nelson Castro Student Success Advocate
House 1
646-313-8884
nelson.castro@guttman.cuny.edu
611-D
Rosemarie Chan Academic Advisor/Career Strategist:
Urban Studies
House 4
646-313-8842
rosemarie.chan@guttman.cuny.edu
610-I
Laura Fritz Student Success Advocate
House 5
646-313-8873
laura.fritz@guttman.cuny.edu
606-C
Danielle Insalaco-Egan Assistant Dean of Student Support 646-313-8067
danielle.insalaco-egan@guttman.cuny.edu
207-H
Jenna Levine Student Success Advocate
House 6
646-313-8109
jenna.levine@guttman.cuny.edu
609-E
Cindy Perez Academic Advisor 646-313-8118
cindy.perez@guttman.cuny.edu
207-A
Victoria Romero Interim Associate Director of Student Support
and Academic Advising
646-313-8843
victoria.romero@guttman.cuny.edu
610-B
Diana Zechowski Career Strategist:
Business Administration
Liberal Arts & Sciences (Social Science & Humanities Track)
646-313-8003
diana.zechowski@guttman.cuny.edu
207-G