Advising

At Guttman, students work closely with an academic advisor starting in the Summer Bridge Program straight through to graduation. Advisors serve as educational planning, transfer, academic and career success coaches.

In the first year, students are guided by a Student Success Advocate (SSA), who helps them make a smooth transition to college life. During Summer Bridge and throughout the first year, students meet with their SSAs weekly in an advising seminar called Learning about Being a Successful Student (LaBSS).

After the first year, continuing students work with a Career Strategist, who helps them progress toward completing their major and their degree, and transition into a baccalaureate program and/or career. Career Strategists also host program of study-related activities, workshops, and networking events and provide college transfer support to students.

Each House has its own SSA as part of the Instructional Teams, located on the 6th floor. The Career Strategists are located in the Mezzanine.

The Advising Team

Soulyka Agana-Woodbine
Career Strategist:
Human Services
Liberal Arts & Sciences (Social Science & Humanities Track)

Janine Agarwal

Janine Agarwal 
Career Strategist:
Information Technology
Liberal Arts & Sciences (Science & Math Track)
Liberal Arts & Sciences (Social Science & Humanities Track)

Carlos iro Burgos

Carlos iro Burgos     
Student Success Advocate
House 3

646-313-8071
carlos.burgos@guttman.cuny.edu
609-L

Uriah Brown

Uriah Brown
Student Success Advocate
House 2

646-313-8859
uriah.brown@guttman.cuny.edu
606-B

Nelson Castro

Nelson Castro  
Student Success Advocate
House 1

646-313-8884
nelson.castro@guttman.cuny.edu
611-D

Rosemarie Chan

Rosemarie Chan
Academic Advisor/Career Strategist:
Urban Studies
House 4

Laura Fritz

Laura Fritz  
Student Success Advocate
House 5

646-313-8873
laura.fritz@guttman.cuny.edu
606-C

Jenna Levine  
Student Success Advocate
House 6

646-313-8109
jenna.levine@guttman.cuny.edu
609-E

Cindy Perez   
Academic Advisor

646-313-8118
cindy.perez@guttman.cuny.edu
207-A

Victoria Romero

Victoria Romero   
Associate Director of Student Support and Academic Advising

Diana Zechowski   
Career Strategist:
Business Administration
Liberal Arts & Sciences (Social Science & Humanities Track)