College Celebrates Chartering and Induction of Students into Honor Society



June 26, 2014 | Academics, Awards, Events, Student Event

The chartering of the Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society’s chapter at Guttman Community College—Beta Phi StudentsGamma–and student induction ceremony was held on June 19 at John Jay College. Phi Theta Kappa is an international organization that recognizes and encourages scholarship among two-year college students. Guttman President Scott E. Evenbeck was the featured guest speaker. Graduating student Allison Rivas gave the student keynote address, and Phi Theta Kappa Representative Dr. Alex D’Erizans, Senior Faculty Advisor, Borough of Manhattan Community College, offered remarks and presented the honor society charter to the college.

Scott & GibsyThere were 19 graduating student inductees: Davon Agnew, Shearlyn Carr, Sean Charles, Maria Estrada, Jessica Leung, Gibsy Lino, Tannya Luna, Roseellie Minier, Simone Mitchell, Khalifa Ndiaye, Daphney Oliveira, Kristine Anne Perez, Juan Pulla, Adesh Steve Ramcharitar, Allison Rivas, Grabiela Rosario, Anna Tokar, Shomari Townsend, and Samuel Van Der Swaagh.

The 30 new Guttman inductees included: Katherine Alba, Rasheed Alebdy, Ashley Allen, Morgan Allphin,

Karen Alvarez, Jasmine Antoine, Edwing Barrios, Yaritza Cedillos, Ueda Cenaj, Rosalie Chan, Rusinel Collado, Victoria Franco, Stephanie Gaviria, Alba Gonzalez, Maria Gonzalez, Desiree Guzman, Nicholas Jenkins, Noy Kruvi, William Lowenhaupt, Ramon Mendez, Maire Mendoza, Axel Owen, Joanna Pinto,

Kristina Quiles, Ginel Roberts, Rochelle Robin, Ariela Sanabria, Saudia Shariff, Bianca Yee, and Brian Zhinin.

The Chartering Officers for Guttman’s Beta Phi Gamma chapter of Phi Theta Kappa are:

  • David Hernandez- President
  • Gibsy Lino- Vice President
  • Davon Agnew- Treasurer
  • Jaymes Hernandez- Secretary
  • Allison Rivas- Public Relations Chair

View photos from the event.

Phi Theta Kappa History

Established by Missouri two-year college presidents in 1918, Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society serves to recognize and encourage the academic achievement of two-year college students and provide opportunities for individual growth and development through honors, leadership and service programming. Today, Phi Theta Kappa is the largest honor society in American higher education with more than 2.5 million members and 1,275 chapters located in 50 United States, U.S. Territories, Canada, Germany, Peru, the British Virgin Islands, the Republic of Palau, the Federated States of Micronesia, the Republic of the Marshall Islands and the United Arab Emirates. In 1929, the American Association of Community Colleges recognized Phi Theta Kappa as the official honor society for two-year colleges.