College Celebrates Fourth Commencement



June 20, 2017 | Academics, Commencement, Events

Stella and Charles Guttman Community College, The City University of New York’s first new community college in more than 40 years, celebrated its fourth commencement on Monday, June 19, 2017. The commencement ceremony was held from 10:30 a.m. to 12:30 p.m. at the Tribeca Performing Arts Center/BMCC, 119 Chambers Street, New York, N.Y.

Associate degrees were conferred for 56 students who completed their degree requirements after the Fall 2016 semester. The associate degrees for the 64 students who completed their degree requirements after the Spring I 2017 session will be conferred on June 27; the degrees for the remaining 122 students will be conferred after the Spring II 2017 session on August 23. With 242 students on track to receive their diplomas, the fourth commencement was the College’s largest.

President Scott E. Evenbeck served as Master of Ceremonies and conferred the degrees. Dr. Howard M. Wach, Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost, presented the College’s candidates for graduation. Dr. Forest Fisher and Dr. Tashana S. Samuel, Assistant Professors, served as Grand Marshals. Angel Rodriguez, class of 2017, performed Lift Every Voice and Sing and graduating students Emmanuel Dover and Jessica Urena gave the Invocation.

Speeches were given by Dr. Lisette Nieves, President of the Guttman Community College Foundation, Gale A. Brewer, Manhattan Borough President, CUNY Trustee Charles A. Shorter, and Marc V. Shaw, Senior Advisor to the Chancellor for Fiscal Policy. Ramon Mendez, Class of 2015, made comments on behalf of Guttman alumni, Michael Tackie, Class of 2017, on behalf of the Peer Mentoring program, and Phaedra Dimitrious, SGA President 2016-2017, gave the welcome address on behalf of the students. The SGA Executive Committee 2016-2017 presented President Evenbeck the Class of 2017 gift: an air hockey table.

The President’s Medal for outstanding contributions to the College was awarded to Thomas R. Bailey, the George and Abby O’Neill Professor of Economics and Education at Teachers College, Columbia University, and Director of the Community College Research Center (CCRC), for his dedication and advocacy to improving student success at community colleges.

Dr. Nate Mickelson, Assistant Professor of English, gave the faculty keynote speech. Daniel Plastrik gave the valedictory address. Merit scholarships were awarded to the Class of 2017 Valedictorian, Daniel Plastrik, and Salutatorian, Miralem Dervisevic.

Suzanne Herrera received the Shawn Dupusoir Urban Studies Scholarship.

View the 2017 Commencement ceremony.