College Convenes Academic Senate



February 15, 2018 | Academics

Guttman Academic Senate

Guttman Academic Senate inaugural meeting, February 14, 2018.

With the implementation of Guttman’s new Governance Plan on February 1, 2018, the College convened its inaugural meeting of the Academic Senate on February 14. The Academic Senate will provide a forum to discuss, review, and recommend procedures, policies, and practices related to academic matters. Recommendations will be referred to the College Council or one of its standing committees, as appropriate, for review and action.

The composition of the Senate will include:

  • 24 full-time faculty, eight from each practice area, elected from and by the full-time
  • faculty in that practice area
  • Three part-time faculty elected from and by the part-time faculty
  • Eight representatives from the Office of Student Engagement (OSE) elected from and by full-time OSE members
  • One faculty representative from the Libraries, elected from and by the faculty members from the Libraries
  • The President, without a vote
  • The Provost, without a vote
  • The Deans of the Office of Academic Affairs, without a vote.

At the inaugural meeting the Academic Senate elected:

  • Chair – Sebastien Buttet, Associate Professor of Economics and Business Administration
  • Vice Chair – Alia Tyner-Mullings, Assistant Professor of Sociology
  • Secretary – Meagan Lacy, Information Literacy Librarian
  • Two Senate Representatives to Serve on Senate Executive Committee – Bindi Patel, Interim Deputy to the Dean of Student Engagement, and Daniel Collins, Associate Professor of English