Clubs & Organizations

If students are interested in co-curricular activities, they can start a club with support from the Student Government Association. They can also join an existing club with other members of the Guttman student body. Club members generally meet during common hours, which are held on Tuesdays and Thursdays during the Fall I and Spring I semesters. Leadership competencies for club members include, but are not limited to: identity development, self-awareness and community building.

List of current and past clubs at Guttman:

Guttman Dance Team (GDT)

The Guttman Dance Team was created to give students with an interest in dancing and performing. This group will have various practices and performances throughout the academic year.

Club Advisor and Contact: Shomari Townsend, shomari.townsend@guttman.cuny.edu

Global Guttman Fellows (GGF)

Global Guttman Fellows (GGF): is the student organization arm of the Global Guttman Study abroad program. The purpose of GGF is to give students who have experienced study abroad an opportunity to share their experiences with their peers, in an effort to encourage them to participate in future study abroad programs.

The Muslim Student Association (MSA)

The Muslim Student Association seeks to build unity through diversity and education. We aim to make Islam understood by all members of the community, both Muslim and Non-Muslim; We aim to challenge and break down stereotypes and misconceptions about Islam and its followers; To present Muslim Issues with respect to life on Campus via various Islamic events for all background and community; We strive to make, raise and increase awareness of Islam and provide a safe space for all Muslim students and guests at Guttman Community College.

Contact:

President:
Murim Nagi – Murim.Nagi81@guttmanmail.cuny.edu

Vice President:
Anisa Nagi – Anisa.Nagi74@guttmanmail.cuny.edu

Advisors:
Nusrat Azmi – Nusrat.Azmi@guttman.cuny.edu

Shafat Azmi – Shafat.Azmi@guttman.cuny.edu

Hanifa Hussain – Hanifa.Hussain@guttman.cuny.edu

FacultyAdvisor:
Elizabeth Wentworth – Elizabeth.Wentworth@guttman.cuny.edu

SPARK Club

SPARK, an acronym for Students Promoting Attitudes of Respect and Kindness, aims to give students that are passionate about creating a more inclusive community on campus the opportunity to come together to understand differences and influence a positive environment. Some of the key functions of this club are directed to uplift and support underrepresented groups on campus such as the LGBTQ community, women, students with disabilities, immigrants, and other culturally diverse communities.

The goals of SPARK are aligned with the Guttman Learning Outcomes #5 (GLO). SPARK will provide a better understanding of individuals through unity and education, while creating a sense of community to erase stereotypes, and raise self-esteem for students and community members.

SPARK was founded through research from Guttman students who saw that such a group could provide transformational leadership and awareness to issues such as, but not limited, to the following:

  •         Gender Equality
  •         Students with Disabilities
  •         Cultural Sensibilities
  •         Anti-Bullying
  •         LGBTQ
  •         Religious Freedom

Past Events:

SPARK Logo Contest

Workshop on Friendships and Relationships

Upcoming Events

Culture Fest- Students will be empowered through sharing aspects of their culture and will gain insight into aspects of other cultures.  This will support a campus climate of appreciation, understanding and respect

Civility Week collaboration with Civility Taskforce- #LetsTalkBullying. Aim to understand and reduce bullying and promote tolerance

Guest Speakers on diverse topics

Contact:

President: Gugeeta Cheetram (Gugeeta.Cheetram83@guttmanmail.cuny.edu)

Vice President: Kizzy Nelson (Kizzy.Nelson304@guttmanmail.cuny.edu)

Faculty/Staff Advisors: Carolee Ramsay (Carolee.Ramsay@guttman.cuny.edu)

Daniel Collins (Daniel.Collins@guttman.cuny.edu)

As SPARK works to grow its message, it hopes that acts of bullying are being reduced and an open mindset and tolerance are promoted.

Phi Theta Kappa is the international honor society of two-year colleges. The purpose of PTK is to recognize and encourage scholarship among two-year college students. PTK provides an opportunity for the development of leadership and service for high academic achieving students. Beta Phi Gamma is the College’s chapter.

Club Advisor & Contact: Carlos Burgos, Carlos.Burgos@guttman.cuny.edu