Several Stella and Charles Guttman Community College employees have been selected as 2024 Excellence Award recipients by the National Institute for Staff and Organizational Development (NISOD). In recognition of their significant contributions to student or employee success, employees were nominated by college leadership who are members of the Guttman Leadership Team.

“The foundation of a student-ready college is its faculty, staff and administration. Individuals selected for this year’s NISOD award embody the Guttman values and work tirelessly to ensure that students are equipped with the academic knowledge and tools to accomplish personal and professional goals,” said Dr. Larry Johnson, president of Guttman Community College. “Congratulations to these devoted colleagues for their commitment to this unique academic model!”

To quality for nomination, Guttman employees must have demonstrated excellence and worked for the College for at least three years. The recipients are as follows:

Marcus Allen
Ria Banerjee
Sebastien Buttet
Joan Castro
Daniel Collins
Zachary Davidson
Nancy Dessables
Marcia Edwards
Christopher Eng
Karla Fuller
Elisa Hertz
Dalvin Hill
Robert Klein
Nicole Kras
Krystal Liriano-Gonzalez
Mickey Matos
Errol Olton
Cristina Ortiz-Harvey
Nicole Paige
Cheri Randall
Ashia Robinson
Sophea Sainsurin
Tashana Samuel
James Sevitt
Lori Ungemah
Michael Wong
Samantha Wong
Elie Yoesoep
Lisa Zheng

The Guttman employees join approximately 1,150 additional recipients selected from community and technical colleges across the nation. The names are listed in the Excellence Awards booklet, and each awardee will receive a pewter medallion hung on a burnt-orange ribbon as well as a certificate. Recipients will also be honored at NISOD’s Excellence Awards Dinner and Celebration in Austin, Texas on May 26.

For more than thirty years, NISOD has recognized faculty, staff and administrators in honor of their service to students, colleagues and their communities. Guttman became a member of NISOD under the leadership of President Johnson as an avenue for highlighting and appreciating the College’s extraordinary talent on a national level.