Academic Success Center (ASC)

Two students talking at a table

The Academic Success Center (ASC) at Guttman Community College provides students opportunities to develop strong academic skills to promote success and become self-motivated learners. The ASC enhances, promotes, and develops tutoring and academic success programming.

We are committed to creating a supportive, inclusive, student-centered learning environment, which stimulates critical thinking and productive collaborative learning. Our knowledgeable and skilled tutors work alongside students to develop skills and strategies that students need to succeed in the classroom and beyond.

Sylvester Allen

Sylvester Allen
Academic Tutor
Specialization: History & Writing
Sylvester.Allen@guttman.cuny.edu

Bio

Guttman logo

Tamykah Anthony-Marston
Academic Tutor
Specialization: Biology & Chemistry
Tamykah.Anthony-Marston@guttman.cuny.edu

MarcusGriffith

Marcus Griffith
Academic Tutor
Specialization:  Writing & eTutoring
Marcus.Griffith@guttman.cuny.edu

Bio

Janice Keuhnelian

Janice Keuhnelian
Academic Tutor
Specialization: Writing
Janice.Keuhnelian@guttman.cuny.edu

Bio

Erika Kojima

Erika Kojima
Academic Tutor
Specialization: Information Technology
Erika.Kojima@guttman.cuny.edu

Bio

Jacqueline Mejia

Jacqueline Mejia
Academic Tutor
Specialization: Algebra, Pre-cal, & Statistics
Jacqueline.Mejia@guttman.cuny.edu

Bio

Torkom Movesiyan

Torkom Movesiyan
Academic Tutor
Specialization: ESL, History and Writing
Torkom.Movesiyan@guttman.cuny.edu

Bio

Ernest Osobukola

Ernest Osobukola
UMOC Academic Coach
Specialization: Biology & Chemistry
Ernest.Osobukola@guttman.cuny.edu

Bio

Michelle Santamaria

Michelle Santamaria
Academic Tutor
Specialization: eTern
Michelle.Santamaria@guttman.cuny.edu

Bio

Sumaiya Tabassum

Sumaiya Tabassum
Academic Tutor
Specialization: Biology & Information Technology
Sumaiya.Tabassum@guttman.cuny.edu

Bio

Hridika-Tasnim

Hridika Tasnim
Academic Tutor
Specialization: Biology
Hridika.Tasnim@guttman.cuny.edu

Bio

Luciana-Puccio

Luciana Vivanco Puccio
Academic Tutor
Specialization: Writing
Luciana.VivancoPuccio@guttman.cuny.edu

Bio

Sean-Wang

Jia Xiang Wang
Academic Tutor
Specialization: Biology, Chemistry, & Statistics
JiaXiang.Wang@guttman.cuny.edu

Bio

The ASC offers Guttman students free programs and services designed to maximize student involvement in their learning and development. Our staff and trained tutors work collaboratively with students to create options for fostering academic and personal success.

Academic Success Center services include:

eTutoring logo

eTutoring is free, 24-hour, online academic support for students. The service is staffed by professional educators who work with students either synchronously – through chat and question/answer forums- or asynchronously through writing submissions.

Live, online tutoring sessions are offered in various subjects, including Math, Biology, Chemistry, Statistics, Research Methods, and Information Literacy.

tutoring logo

Tutors meet one-on-one with students to work together on specific assignments. Tutors tailor each session to the needs of the individual student and the requirements of the assignment.

Students can make appointments through the “Services” tab on Starfish.

Supplemental instruction logo

Supplementary Instruction (SI) Groups are tutor-facilitated, group review sessions that meet regularly (1-2 times a week). Before the semester begins, tutors (SI Leaders) undergo extensive planning, pedagogy, and team-building training. During the semester, SI Leaders attend all classes for their course and submit plans for their group sessions to the Area Coordinator of Academic Support. Student participation in SI Groups is anonymous and voluntary.