Academic Success Center (ASC)

Charles H. Pryor, II

Charles H. Pryor, II
Vice President, Division of Student Engagement

Under the umbrella of Student Engagement, the Academic Success Center (ASC) at Guttman Community College provides students opportunities to develop strong academic skills to promote success and become self-motivated learners. Through collaborative efforts with academic affairs and faculty, the ASC enhances, promotes, and develops tutoring and academic success programming.

We are committed to creating a supportive, inclusive, student-centered learning environment, which stimulates critical thinking and productive collaborative learning. Our knowledgeable and skilled tutors work alongside students to develop skills and strategies that students need to succeed in the classroom and beyond.

Sylvester Allen

Sylvester Allen
Academic Tutor
Specialization: History & Writing
Sylvester.Allen@guttman.cuny.edu

Gabrielle Blevins

Gabrielle Blevins
Academic Success Specialist
Specialization: SI Leader and Chemistry 110
Gabrielle.Blevins@guttman.cuny.edu

Iridian Castillo

Iridian Samantha Castillo
Academic Tutor
Specialization: Writing
Irdidan.Castillo@guttman.cuny.edu

Ranjeef Hamandi

Ranjeef Ghamandi
Adjunct
Specialization: All Math Courses
Ranjeef.Ghamandi@guttman.cuny.edu

Guttman logo

Marcus Griffith
Academic Tutor
Specialization:  Writing
Marcus. Griffith@guttman.cuny.edu

Marjana Islam

Marjana Islam
Academic Tutor
Specialization: Math and Statistics
Marjana.Islam@guttman.cuny.edu

Janice Keuhnelian

Janice Keuhnelian
Academic Tutor
Specialization: Writing
Janice.Keuhnelian@guttman.cuny.edu

Erika Kojima

Erika Kojima
Academic Tutor
SpecializationInformation Technology
Erika.Kojima@guttman.cuny.edu

Sulay Ortega

Sulay Ortega
Academic Tutor
Specialization: College Algebra and Trigonometry
Suly.Ortega@guttman.cuny.edu

Torkom Movesiyan

Torkom Movesiyan
Academic Tutor
Specialization: ESL, History and Writing
Torkom.Movesiyan@guttman.cuny.edu

Michelle Santamaria

Michelle Santamaria
Academic Tutor
Specialization: Etern
Michelle.Santamaria@guttman.cuny.edu

The ASC offers Guttman students free programs and services designed to maximize student involvement in their learning and development. Our staff and trained tutors work collaboratively with students to create options for fostering academic and personal success.

Academic Success Center services include:

eTerns logo

eTerns are trained to support students in using academic technology, an integral component of Guttman’s support system for students.  eTerns are available to answer questions for the following programs:

  • ePortfolio
  • eTutoring
  • Starfish Navigation

Students can access eTern services through the “Services” tab on Starfish, using any computer on or off-campus.

eTutoring logo

eTutoring is free, 24-hour, online academic support for students. The service is staffed by professional educators who work with students either synchronously – through chat and question/answer forums- or asynchronously through writing submissions.

Live, online tutoring sessions are offered in various subjects, including Math, Biology, Chemistry, Statistics, Research Methods, and Information Literacy.

tutoring logo

Tutors meet one-on-one with students to work together on specific assignments. Tutors tailor each session to the needs of the individual student and the requirements of the assignment.

Students can make appointments through the “Services” tab on Starfish.

Supplemental instruction logo

Supplementary Instruction (SI) Groups are tutor-facilitated, group review sessions that meet regularly (1-2 times a week). Before the semester begins, tutors (SI Leaders) undergo extensive planning, pedagogy, and team-building training. During the semester, SI Leaders attend all classes for their course and submit plans for their group sessions to the Area Coordinator of Academic Support. Student participation in SI Groups is anonymous and voluntary.